Helen of Marlowe's Blog

Thanksgiving it is

Posted in Holiday, Religion by helenofmarlowe on November 24, 2010

Tomorrow is the fourth Thursday of November, which means it is the day that we gather for Thanksgiving holiday. Sometimes people ask vegetarians what they eat on Thanksgiving. That’s easy. We’ll eat macaroni and cheese from my favorite recipe  and sweet potato casserole, and slaw and green beans and whatever the kids bring. My oldest son and his wife will bring a vegetable side dish and cranberry sauce. Our middle son with his family will bring deviled eggs and whatever strikes their fancy when the time comes. Our youngest and his wife will bring pies — Cynde makes the best pecan pies in the world, and although I have her recipe, I can’t make the pie (mine always runs, and so is more like pudding than pie).

Thanksgiving I believe had religious origins, but (much like Christmas?) is now a secular holiday, celebrated in North  America by people of all religious faiths and people of no religious faith.

There is much I am thankful for.

I have three good strong healthy sons who are good and responsible and successful people who have all kept their jobs during this time of 9% unemployment, and who are happy at least most of the time.

My husband plays the piano, and sings, and I stop what I’m doing and lie down on the sofa to listen. He writes beautiful poetry, and will be, on November 30th, the featured poet at the downtown central library in Winston-Salem. He was the guest speaker last night at AU (Americans United for Separation of Church and State), and it was a good group of good and interesting people. He takes my artwork around to the galleries and gift shops, because, although I love to make digital drawings with GIMP, and although I’ve won a number of honors and prizes in both local and national exhibits, I will never have enough self-confidence to approach a gallery and ask if they’d like to hang my work.

Much to be thankful for. We have almost three acres of wooded land right here in the city, with a creek, and nesting red-tailed hawks, and three hammocks and four bird feeders and rocking chairs on the front porch. And good neighbors.

And we have good healthy happy grandchildren, ranging in age from young adult (the oldest is already in University!) to very young child. Our youngest is three, and to our abiding delight, was named after my husband.

I have friends whom I love, and who forgive me most of my trespasses.

And now it is time to go shopping for macaroni, and cheese, and cabbage and fruit, and to start cooking for the people I love who will gather here tomorrow.

Tagged with: ,

I like comments. Put 'em here.

