Helen of Marlowe's Blog

In search of Correo del Maestro

Posted in fiction, Literature by helenofmarlowe on May 28, 2011

May 28, 2011

I have a calendar on my desk. It’s a perpetual calendar, with photos of world masterpieces in art museums. I could tell you which museums, except that I don’t read Spanish.

This calendar has been on my desk for several years.

I like it. I even turn its pages once in a while.

But you wouldn’t have noticed it in my clutter.

Recently, I cleaned off my desk, and Emily noticed my calendar.

Cool!” she said, or maybe “Awsome!” or maybe just “Hey, I like this!” She said whatever monolingual eighteen-year-old American girls say when they see a calendar with 365 works of art and all the words in Spanish.

So, I thought, aha! Idea! I will buy one for Emily, and surprise her.

Next day I set about the task of finding a copy of Un ano en el Museo.

Put together, as far as I can tell, by Olivia Barbet-Massin and Caroline Larroche,

Recuerdo de Mortefontaine
Recuerdo de Mortefontaine

and published by Correo del Maestro. ISBN# 9685142025.

Here it is – I opened it to a pretty page.

But to get back to my task – I’m not a bad googler, and I usually find what I want. But I can’t find this calendar. I did find a picture of it, but not accompanied by an order form, or an email address, or a telephone, and besides, the site was in Spanish (see paragraph #1).

After trying longer than a person with better sense would, I decided this was not working out and that, as all enlightened people know, there is more than one path to the true calendar. I would find another way.

The next day I put the calendar into a plastic bag, so that I could wrap it around the handle bars (my bicycle doesn’t have a basket) and I rode my bicycle over to Wake Forest University, which is within bicycling distance even for me.

Logic being, they know how to speak all sorts of foreign languages over there, and they have a bookstore which means they know how to order things with ISBN numbers.

Right?

I was directed to Lizzie, who orders things. Lizzie looked at all the clues, and said she’d get back with me.

A few days later, she did. She can’t find it.

But I have other resources. I happen to live right next door to a librarian. Now in case you didn’t know this, nb:

Librarians know everything. Especially things with ISBN numbers.

And what they don’t know, they know how to find out.

Most of the time. But not this time.

She did, however, find the email address of the publisher. And a picture of a similar calendar in French (but no ordering information). I thanked my good friend for getting a step closer, and I sent email (in English) to Correo del Maestro.

un ano en el museo

un ano en el museo

As my hopes for a response diminish, I try Plan C.

Which is to write this.

If all three of the people who occasionally read my blog would mention this to three of their friends, and those people do the same, someone will find this calendar, and I can order it.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dewey said, on May 18, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    mind posting the ISBN? i doubt i’ll get farther than yourself and your helpers, but i’m intrigued. oh, and i only speak american hick.

  2. helenofmarlowe said, on May 18, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    Hi there Dewey,
    The ISBN # is posted about a third of the way down. Easy to miss I’m sure.
    After the author names, above the first photo.
    Helen,
    another monolingual American

  3. Joseph Gilmore said, on May 19, 2011 at 6:32 am

    I bet Emily will enjoy reading about your efforts as much as she would enjoy the calendar. – And so now you can just buy her the iPad; it has a calendar too.

  4. gigi said, on June 14, 2011 at 12:25 am

    hi there,
    I just read your note on the ‘eating animals’ post and I am a vegan so I liked your comment. Came here and read this post. I speak Spanish. The name of that calendar, in English, is: “One Year in the Museum.” You can try rewriting the publisher in Spanish. Here’s what you can say:

    Correo del Maestro:
    Me gusta el calendario, “Un Ano en el Museo” y quiero pagar te par un copia. Come puedo hacer lo?

    Muchisimas gracias,

    Sign your name and put your address and whatever country you live in. It says:

    Mail of the Teacher,
    I like the calendar, “One Year in the Museum” and I would like to pay you for a copy. How can I do this?

    Thank you very much,

    “Recuerdo de Mortefontaine” means “Remembering Mortefontaine” (that’s a region in France, I think). But I don’t think the painting on the page you’ve got open is “Recuerdo de Mortefontaine,” is it?

    I’ve been to Spain. The big museum there is the “Museo del Prado,” where they had some exquisite paintings in 1985, when I went. If you want something translated, write it out and I’ll do my best. Spanish is my native language.

  5. gigi said, on June 14, 2011 at 1:06 am

    I found it. I’m a former newspaper reporter so I guess I kind of like this stuff. Good news is, here’s the link: http://www.correodelmaestro.com/aprendamos/calendario/calencontent.htm

    Problem is that when I go to send a message on that link (the link on the right), it won’t let me b/c it wants to send it through a Microsoft Email I no longer have access to. I E-mailed what I think is the publisher and if they write me back, I’ll let you know what they said. I asked them how you could purchase a copy.

    Correo del Maestro is a website and I think it’s set up for professors/teachers. That calendar has questions and answers on it and that link asked me what I did by way of teaching. Anyway, hopefully…

  6. helenofmarlowe said, on June 14, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Thanks, GIGI! I’m running late (as usual) but when I get back home this afternoon I’ll get right on to this and will report on my success. (I use Linux, not MS, but so hopefully that link doesn’t require ms.) Thanks again — I look forward to getting back
    home and checking this out.
    Helen

  7. photoshop cs5 crack said, on June 12, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    I am sure this post has touched all the internet users, its really really pleasant paragraph on building up new blog.


I like comments. Put 'em here.

