Helen of Marlowe's Blog

Free Lunch

Posted in Economy, Government, Government Politics by helenofmarlowe on November 16, 2011

I am reading Free Lunch, by David Cay Johnston.

Mr. Johnston’s book is not making me happy.  Maybe it’s not the best choice for bedtime reading.

 There’s not a whole lot in there that I don’t already know in theory, but it sure can get me riled up when I read the details.

If you’re not already supporting the Occupiers,

if you’re not quite as disgruntled as you ought to be about the Supreme Court ‘s ruling in Citizens United and you don’t really think corporations are people, and if you haven’t signed the petition for a constitutional amendment taking the money out of political campaigns at  http://www.getmoneyout.com/

then try reading Free Lunch.

It is hard to be optimistic about the future of this nation.

Tagged with: , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. marx said, on November 11, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    I like the “get the money out” idea.
    I read somewhere that “Joe the Plumber” is running for Congress. I wish him luck! It’s a nice gig; what a $175k or so a year? All you have to do is two years and you get lifetime killer benefits!

    I also like the idea of more representatives based on Constitutional requirements for the size of districts.

    I tremble at the prospect of you riled up. 🙂

  2. helenofmarlowe said, on November 11, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Marx, ha! A cold glass of Little Penguin Chardonney helps with that – with both the rile and the tremble.
    This book has a lot of nasty politics in it. Including how GW Bush “owes his fortune not to the oil business, at which he failed, but to a sales tax increase that was funneled into his pocket, a fortune further enhanced by his paying millions less in incomes taxes than he should have.”
    Joe the Plumber is probably almost as qualified as Herman Cain.

  3. sekanblogger said, on November 12, 2011 at 11:39 am

    I have a new mantra; 1st the filibuster, then Citizens United….

    I already signed the petition.
    My gruntle got dissed years ago.

    • helenofmarlowe said, on November 12, 2011 at 9:50 pm

      sekanblogger – I like your mantra. Even more, I like
      “Keep your gruntle dissed!”

  4. Jim Wheeler said, on November 13, 2011 at 10:21 am

    I signed it too.


I like comments. Put 'em here.

