Helen of Marlowe's Blog

Diners who leave their wallets at home

Posted in "North Carolina" by helenofmarlowe on January 2, 2013

What do you do to people who leave their wallet at home?”

That’s what we had to ask the nice young waiter at Sixth & Vine tonight. He looked a little taken aback. I think he had not been asked that question before.

We were prepared to make suggestions.

One of us could go home and leave the other here as hostage. Or we could both leave, and come back  to pay the bill. Or …

Before calling the waiter over to ask our what-do-you-do question, we talked it over. Bob asked if I would mind staying here while he goes home. I said I’d rather not sit here alone and take up this table, keeping our waiter from getting another round, and besides, I think they’ll probably let us go. Let’s just ask.

Or I could sit in the lounge to wait. I’d rather not, but yes, I could. (Would they spot me another glass of pinot?)

We had both enjoyed their special of the evening. Tequila Mango Salmon: Pan-seared and oven-roasted Chilean Salmon accompanied by a tequila mango sauce with a hint of vanilla. Served with garlic potatoes and roasted asparagus.” Very good. We highly recommend it.

I enjoyed mine with a glass of Bel Vento pinot grigio, and Bob had a Stella. No desserts. Good conversation. But back to the waiter …

The waiter said he’d have to ask his manager, and he did so. The good-natured manager was friendly and unperturbed. He said it would help if we could get back before midnight – something about closing out the books being easier if the tabs are all paid. We told him ten minutes home, ten minutes back, so about 25 minutes. That would make it about 10:30.

Walking back to the car, I said “Pop the trunk. Maybe my purse is in the trunk.”

It was not. I knew it was not, but I might have been wrong. I hoped I was wrong. I was right. It was not.

We usually keep a couple of twenties in the car, just for emergencies, but we had been taking and not replenishing, so it was not there. And it would not have been sufficient anyway.

So we proceeded with the only reasonable option: we drove back home, and then back downtown.   Bob murmured,  I’m glad we’re not in New York.  We didn’t go through the parking hassle again. I just double parked while Bob went in to make amends.

So no trouble for them, and only minor inconvenience for us.

And a good time was had by all.

Tagged with: ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jim Wheeler said, on January 9, 2013 at 10:41 am

    Very interesting, Helen. This kind of thing has happened to me, and I suspect to most people. We are all creatures of habit and habit occasionally lets us down.

    Last week our son called from work and asked me to go down the block to his house and verify that his wallet was on his dresser. It wasn’t. Yipes. It had credit cards, SSN, cash, his whole identity, basically. It wasn’t on the floor, nor under the bed, nor in the pants he wore yesterday. Really worried now, he drove home and found the thing on the secretary in the den where he had it out the night before checking some information needed for writing a check.

    When we go to the Y, which we do regularly, we place our stuff in a corner that has a coat rack and storage cabinet with small cavities. We would put our jackets, headset cases and keys in there. A few months ago we were there doing our daily exercise regime and when we went to pick up our stuff, the keys were gone. Gone. I had been in the custom of leaving my wallet locked in the car trunk, so at least that wasn’t gone. We enlisted the aid of a Y employee who also came up empty, so I called our son who drove over from his office nearby. There we were, unable to get into our car, and on the missing key rings (2) were the key to the car, our house, our bank lock box, our son’s house. Fortunately our car itself was not locked (just the trunk), so we did have access to our garage door opener or otherwise we would have been locked out of the house. Just as our son arrived, however, the Y employee came out brandishing the missing keys which had mysteriously reappeared in the cabinet cavity. We still don’t know where they went, but one theory is that I was the victim of a prank – I am known in the community as a liberal blogger and this is an extremely conservative town. Color me paranoid I guess. I bought a fanny pack and now keep my keys and wallet on me. 🙂

    • helenofmarlowe said, on January 9, 2013 at 1:11 pm

      Hi Jim,
      Yes, I recall when your keys wandered out of your gym locker. It’s a shame to think this is someone’s idea of a prank. I believe it happened about the same time we lost my bicycle from the truck (but that of course was our fault). I don’t know what reasonable options a restaurant has when a customer can’t pay. Maybe trusting the patron to come back is all they can do.

      • Jim Wheeler said, on January 9, 2013 at 3:44 pm

        I don’t know either, Helen. Maybe they put them on a blacklist. In this day and age it wouldn’t be hard either to photograph scofflaws with a digital camera. Probably not a big problem.

        Now I remember telling you the story before, and the bicycle incident. I must be losing brain cells not to have remembered. 🙄

  2. vorsteggianuu said, on January 9, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    Verily it is true.

  3. Joseph Gilmore said, on January 10, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    You guys are funny.

    • helenofmarlowe said, on January 11, 2013 at 7:36 am

      Someone whose wit I admire has a saying, “It’s hard being me.” With permission,
      I’ll borrow that.

  4. smarterwiser said, on January 23, 2013 at 10:55 am

    What a great post! So True. Thank you for stopping by my blog!

  5. […] See previous post here. […]


I like comments. Put 'em here.

