Helen of Marlowe's Blog

We all do that? Really?

Posted in "North Carolina", Winston-Salem by helenofmarlowe on February 17, 2013

.

Oh Jeez we’ve done it again.

See previous post here.

Last night it was Vincenzo’s.  The spinach ravioli there is wonderful, and the music is not too loud for conversation.  A very pleasant and comfortable place for dinner. We’ve just returned from about two weeks in Florida (eating in restaurants for two weeks, so naturally we came home and had to eat out again).  This time it was a neighborhood (sort of) Italian locally-owned restaurant.

So when we made our unhappy discovery, I went to Richard, the impeccably dressed owner, and said,  I hope you remember us.  He smiled and said yes, of course.   And that we’ve been coming here for 20 years … He nodded, yes …  And we live close by …  He didn’t know that I’m sure but he smiled and nodded …  and my husband left his wallet at home, and I never carry a purse, or almost never …

He laughed, said no problem, we all do that.  Richard is always gracious.

We offered to come back before they close at midnight, and he said that would be fine, or we could just call in a credit card when we get home.   That’s what we did.

We were too embarrassed to ask for our senior discount, so we just said add a 20% tip for the waitress.

Someone, I forget who, said  Old age ain’t for sissies.  If I were younger, I would remember who said that.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. helenofmarlowe said, on February 17, 2013 at 10:58 am

    OK, I’ll make the first comment. I just got a message saying Pingback request. I approved, even though I don’t know what a pingback is.

  2. Anonymous said, on February 17, 2013 at 11:00 am

    Good for you, Helen, for ‘fessing up on forgetfulness a second time! I submit that you should be grateful, as I am (see below), that it’s still a laughing matter.

    With flu and some kind of stomach virus making the rounds here in Joplin, Mollie and I have been taking hand sanitizer with us to restaurants and have now left three of them on the table. I told her we are benefiting public health by spreading them around and probably deserve some kind of medal. 😆

  3. Jim Wheeler said, on February 17, 2013 at 11:04 am

    The above comment was mine, Helen. My settings were messed up. 😳

    • helenofmarlowe said, on February 17, 2013 at 11:08 am

      Hi Jim — I was quite curious — I knew it was you only by your reference to Mollie, and Joplin. And of course I wondered if the “anonymous” meant you had deleted your blog! So I went looking for it…. Whew! Glad you’re still here!


I like comments. Put 'em here.

