Helen of Marlowe's Blog

Jellico

Posted in Winston-Salem by helenofmarlowe on September 2, 2014

We have a brand new kitten. Her name is Jellico.
Where she came up with that name, I’m sure I’ll never know.

Dr. Vorsteg is her master, though he doesn’t tell her so.
It’s she told him, in fact, when we said, One cat, to go.

She jumped upon his shoulder, said, I want to go with youJellico1
Of all the cats in all the cages, she’s the one we knew
would make us laugh and love the life she will contribute to.

We asked her what her name is.
My husband says she whispered it, into his ear, her own true name.
I think the whisper came from T. S. Eliot.

I offered Tabby, Tumbles, Mittens,
Can we name you Chloe ? Bo?
No! she said, I’ll stop my ears! My name is Jellico!                                    Jellico2

Let’s sleep on that, we told our cat
and she curled up and purred.
When morning broke, she knew she’d won
We had to keep our word.

So, tiny kitten, here she is!

.           World,

.                     meet Jellico.

090214

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martha Kennedy said, on September 2, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    Ah! the power of cuteness! We are defenseless against such a lovable kitty as Jellico. I want to hear more about her as she charms you into servitude.

    • helenofmarlowe said, on September 2, 2014 at 5:10 pm

      Thanks Martha! She’s running around and jumping and exploring. She really is a cutie!

  2. Rachel M said, on September 2, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    So cute!

  3. L.T.L. said, on September 3, 2014 at 2:53 am

    congratulations of having a new degree of curiosity in your home.
    and the name is an excellent singular name. it looks like her.
    i wish you much crazy happiness together.

    • helenofmarlowe said, on September 3, 2014 at 9:15 am

      Thank you L.T.L. We are joking that we may have to find a day care center for her, so that we can get some rest. She has enough energy to take us off the grid if we could harness it. Her world suddenly became so much larger than a pen in the animal shelter.

      • L.T.L. said, on September 3, 2014 at 11:48 am

        I know exactly how it feels. My Beryl has finally reached the mature age of one year, and is not endlessly in motion round the house or myself. It took him the best part of the year to explore the new larger world which is the house I inhabit. And still it seems he sometimes has at least 8 legs like Sleipnir, and three rows of teeth like a shark, not to mention the claws which are razor-sharp and ready for action. And getting up at 5 a.m.
        But I also think that neither you nor I would go back to being cat-less. The companionship is too valuable a gift.

  4. Martha Kennedy said, on September 3, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    Helen, I forgot to ask you about your new wine choice. Chardonnay and Voigniere(sp?) sounds so special! Do let me know the brand name when you have the time.

    • helenofmarlowe said, on September 4, 2014 at 1:21 pm

      Oh, Martha, I wish I had a bottle in the house now so I could look. Also because I wish I had a bottle in the house now 🙂 It’s on the bottom self at Trader Joe’s in the Blends section. Next time I get out to that side of town, I will get
      several.

  5. Anonymous said, on September 6, 2014 at 10:03 am

    Looks like you have a new friend !

  6. Chris Gilmore said, on September 6, 2014 at 10:10 am

    Looks like you have a new friend !

    • helenofmarlowe said, on October 13, 2014 at 11:24 am

      Yes, she’s a precious little thing, when she’s not climbing the curtains!

  7. Beth said, on November 3, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    It’s a lovely name!

  8. vorsteggianuu said, on November 6, 2014 at 9:54 am

    Have I told the world how much I like your poetry — and I have just
    reread your blog on Jellico. It is truly felicitous and delightful to read.

  9. Chris Gilmore said, on November 12, 2014 at 8:39 pm

    How is Jellico doing ?

    • helenofmarlowe said, on November 12, 2014 at 11:13 pm

      Jellico is growing fast, has way too much energy, and is precious!

      • Anonymous said, on March 23, 2015 at 8:37 pm

        Good bike riding weather.

    • Anonymous said, on March 23, 2015 at 8:36 pm

      Good bike riding weather.

  10. Anonymous said, on March 23, 2015 at 8:33 pm

    Good weather for bike riding.

  11. mmkenned2015 said, on September 12, 2016 at 11:19 am

    Please check out the links below Elleson’s announcement to find out Burr’s plans for changing the Medicare coverage for all of us! Martha Kennedy martha_kennedy@bellsouth.net “I think having land and not ruining it is the most beautiful art that anybody could ever want to own.”   Andy Warhol


I like comments. Put 'em here.

