Helen of Marlowe's Blog

What would we have done?

Posted in Government, Politics by helenofmarlowe on July 2, 2017

At our UU forum this morning, the topic was Current Events, and we
were led in our excellent discussion by a member who is a US attorney. We
didn’t spend most of our time talking about our president who
tweets up storms almost daily, but that topic did take some of
our time. And I have a question I’d like to toss out to
anyone who will give thought to this question:
What would we, as a nation, have done, if President Obama had
talked about women (and others) the way Trump does?
I constantly hear people say, of Trump’s behavior, that this is
not acceptable. And I think, yes, apparently, it is acceptable,
because we are accepting it.  So I ask, if President Obama had
said these things, what would we have done? My reason for
asking is because I say, whatever it is that we would have done,
let’s do it.
I don’t want hyperbolic answers such as “shoot him” and I will
delete any such, but I want to think about what we, officially, as a nation,
would have done.
What would we have done?

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert A. Vella said, on July 2, 2017 at 12:57 pm

    Lynched him?

  2. Jim Wheeler said, on July 3, 2017 at 9:40 am

    What would “we” have done? Such out-of-character behavior by the first black president would have alienated both parties in Congress and he would have been impeached and convicted of being unable to carry out the duties of his office. Democrats would fear he had lost his sanity and Republicans would agree and smugly imply that it was confirmation that blacks are racially unfit for office.

    Either way, I think 2016 marked a turning point in U.S. politics. Both parties are roiling in feckless confusion, split by internal warring factions. This may not all be bad. Clearly, to me at least, both need to reestablish connections to ordinary Americans.

    • helenofmarlowe said, on July 4, 2017 at 9:42 am

      Yes, we as a country certainly would have demonstrated what the word “unacceptable” means. I wonder if we’d’ve even waited for the impeachment process – maybe he’d have been declared unfit and restrained, I don’t know. I do believe that with Trump, for some reason we only SAY it’s unacceptable, while continuing to accept it. .. I do believe it’s bad Jim. Trump has said his goal is the deconstruction of the administrative state. Look at EPA right now. And the resistance is feeling tired and hopeless as Trump continues, with daily tweet shocks, to divert our attention from what he’s doing.
      Thanks for your thoughtful response Jim – it’s good to hear from you.
      Helen


I like comments. Put 'em here.

