Helen of Marlowe's Blog

The Perspective of Time

Posted in Literature, poetry by helenofmarlowe on August 4, 2017

If I could go back in time
and speak to my teenage self,
I thought last night,
I would say to her
When you are 70,
You will define happiness as
lying half asleep at 5:00 a.m.
listening to soft, gentle
snoring on your left,
listening to a woodthrush in the distant woods
and hearing the early songs of wrens
and cardinals and towhees through four open windows
on your right,
with a yellow cat curled up at your feet.

Helen Etters
3/4/17
Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. M. Sakran said, on August 4, 2017 at 11:27 am

    How did the teenage you define happiness? How different is it from the above?

    • helenofmarlowe said, on August 5, 2017 at 6:46 am

      I don’t think my teenage self even thought of it. She would perhaps reply
      “You’re nuts. I’m never going to be that old and dotty.”


I like comments. Put 'em here.

