Helen of Marlowe's Blog

Using GIMP

Posted in computers by helenofmarlowe on September 10, 2013

This is a work in progress. It will be about a discussion of GIMP (Gnu Image Manipulation Program).
For now, I’m simply uploading a few of the pictures I’ve created in GIMP over the last few years.

You can see more at my webpage   http://helen-of-marlowe.com/Helen_of_marlowe.html

AGrantWoodFarm-small

“A Grant Wood Farm” — done over many weeks with the drawing tools in Gimp.
This includes one photo, the bicycles, which I took from the “Bicycle Crossing” signs
of the DOT.

Blackbirds Waiting

GWoodFarmFromBack

Many layers here. Almost every item is on a separate layer, so that it
can be moved or removed with no effect on the picture.

jpgInGimp

I was asked to explain the difference in work flow between “save as” in gimp 2.6 and “export” in gimp 2.8

In gimp 2.6:

open or create new file. Name it.

I now have (e.g.) village.xcf

Work on it for weeks, saving every few minutes withSunSaluteTree

file > save

I now have village.xcf with all layers preserved

I finish the picture, and do two steps:

file > save, and then

file > SaveAs > village.png

I now have two copies of my creation, one with layers, and one flattened.

The village.png is now the one I see on my screen, as I see from the title bar.

I then do

Image > scale image > change X & Y resolution to 72 and pixel to some small size

and click Scale.

This gives me one large village.xcf with all properties preserved,and one small flattened village.png for mailing or uploading.

All is well.

But in gimp 2.8, the “save as” feature was removed.  This has caused many hundreds, probably thousands, of complaints.

In gimp 2.8

open or create new file. Name it.

I now have (e.g.) village.xcf

Work on it for weeks, saving every few minutes with

file > save

I now have village.xcf with all layers preserved

I finish the picture, and do two steps:

file > save, and then

file > export

I now have a flattened image named village.png

So I need to scale it, make it small enough to email

But unlike in 2.6, I can’t simply proceed to do that.  I have to re-open village.png

So I go to

File > Open Recent > and click village.png

But of course when it opens it’s no longer png

It opens as [village](imported)

Now I can of course scale this one down, but I can’t just save it as png

so I have to export it again after I scale it.

But then I have to rename it because I already have a village.png.

Is this the intended work flow for creating a small, flattened png copy of a large multi-layerd xcf?

It seems to be creating difficulties for many people.

Fortunately, Akkana Peck, a software developer  (see http://www.shallowsky.com/ ) has created a plug-in which fixes this problem.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MKennedy said, on January 11, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    Did I already tell you how much I like your darkly compelling work? What a contast to your “happy villages”!

    ________________________________


I like comments. Put 'em here.

